2016 goals / Debt / Financial Progress / Goals / Personal Finance

Starting off 2016 with lofty goals

From the beginning, I’ve always said that success comes from setting SMART goals, with SMART being Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-Based.

So, to kick off 2016, I begin the year with the same goal as last: to pay off that pesky Home Equity Line of Credit by December 31, 2016 at the very latest. Even with an entire year to pay off this gigantic balance, I started off with having to pay at least $1,231.42 per month. With my payment today, that has dropped to $1,183.85…

I know this blog was supposed to be about being Unchained by 55 (i.e. retired!) but I can’t even start retirement savings until I crawl out of this hole of debt, so let’s go, debt repayment!!!

2 thoughts on “Starting off 2016 with lofty goals

  1. all the best with paying your debt; looks like a tight situation…. unfortunately our plans never go as we wish it to be and we all experience it time to time. even though it will take longer to pay this debt than you had originally planned, I am sure eventually it will disappear from your life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the encouragement!! You’re right in that life never goes to plan, but I have a lot more chance of success if I plan and stick to it best I can vs. not planning and just letting anything happen. Hopefully 2016 is the year it disappears completely 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

