Personal Finance

It pays to clean – literally!

cashThis evening, I assigned Mr. U the unfinished task of organizing all our paperwork in the loft. We moved back from the condo to the house back in the summer of 2014, yet we still haven’t gotten around to sorting out all the paperwork. Out of sight, out of mind, I suppose.

Then, out of the blue, he yelled excitedly, “Honey, guess what I found?!”

Before I could answer, he ran down the stairs into my office to show me $251 USD that he had found buried under the piles of paperwork and in a random bill envelope. (I most definitely did not stash money in a bill envelope…)

Actually, I had tried looking for theĀ American cash back in the summer, before an American friend’s wedding. It wasn’t where I was sure I had left it, and although I had been sure we hadn’t spent it during our previous shopping trip to the US, I figured I must have been wrong.

And with the Canadian dollar being so weak at the moment, this $251 USD is worth nearly $350 CAD! Giddy with glee, his first question to me was, “What do you want to spend it on? Wanna buy house stuff?!”

My gut reaction was, “Yes!!! Of course!” but instead, I narrowed my eyes at him.

“… Just kidding? I meant, let’s pay off our debt!”

Good answer, Mr., good answer!

One thought on “It pays to clean – literally!

Leave a Reply

